From May 2010 through April 2016, HealthLINC was a partner in the Tri-State Regional Extension Center (REC). The Tri-State REC was one of a select group of organizations throughout the U.S. designated as having the experience and capacity necessary to assist health-care providers with the task of modernizing their practices with certified Electronic Health Records (EHRs). We were selected by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ (HHS) Office of the National Coordinator (ONC) for Health Information Technology to serve providers, with a focus on primary-care providers, in South Central Indiana.Tri-state REC

For providers who did not currently have an EHR system, HealthLINC could help the practice choose and implement one. For providers who already had a system, we helped eligible providers meet the criteria for incentive payments from Medicare or Medicaid for the meaningful use of EHRs.

We are very proud of all of our providers and hospitals who achieved their goals, and while the Medicare program is closed to new providers, the Medicaid program is still offering substantial bonuses to qualified providers who adopt certified EHR technology.

What is "Meaningful Use"?

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 specifies three main components of Meaningful Use:

  • The use of a certified EHR in a meaningful manner, such as e-prescribing.
  • The use of certified EHR technology for electronic exchange of health information to improve quality of health care.
  • The use of certified EHR technology to submit clinical quality and other measures.

Simply put, "meaningful use" means providers need to show they're using certified EHR technology in ways that can be measured significantly in quality and in quantity.

Eligible Professionals

Medicare Program
  • Doctors of medicine or osteopathy
  • Doctors of dental surgery or dental medicine
  • Doctors of podiatric medicine
  • Doctors of optometry
  • Chiropractors
Medicaid Program
  • Physicians
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Certified nurse-midwives
  • Dentists
  • Physician assistants (PAs) in PA-led Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or rural health clinic (RHC)
  • 30% patient population uses Medicaid, 20% for pediatrics

Eligible Hospitals

Medicare Program
  • “Subsection (d) hospitals” that are paid under the hospital inpatient prospective payment system
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  • Medicare Advantage (MA) Hospitals
Medicaid Program
  • Acute care hospitals (including CAHs) with at least 10% Medicaid patient volume
  • Children’s hospitals (no Medicare volume requirements)


REC Poster Parade at ONC’s Annual Meeting

Success Stories

Greene County General Hospital, Linton, Indiana

Greene County General Hospital was the First Indiana Critical Access Hospital to Attest for Meaningful Use

Green County Hospital

Daviess Community Hospital, Washington, Indiana

"Thank you.  It has been so helpful to have another set of eyes checking all this .  You and Tara have been a big help." Richard Meinart.

Daviess County Hospital

Family Medical Center, Seymour, Indiana

“Without REC assistance, we would have still achieved meaningful use eventually. Though the road would have been much rockier and the journey much slower,” Kathy Franklin, Practice Manager

IU Health Paoli Hospital, Paoli, Indiana